High School Biology Teachers in U.S. Reluctant to Endorse Evolution in Class

“High School Biology Teachers in U.S. Reluctant to Endorse Evolution in Class.” 01282011: n. page. Web. 27 Sep. 2011. <http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/01/110127141657.htm&gt;.

 

This topic affects my understanding of the topic in the sense that it provides me with information and statistics on my field controversy which is teaching evolution in high school biology courses. This source will help me to write a stronger paper because it provides me with information on what topics teachers are saying evolution applies to or even if evolution is being taught in the classrooms at all. This source actually does not provide me with any new insights; in fact, it is very similar to the first article I read. I originally chose this source for my paper because it had sound research and seemed like a reliable source. This source could lead me in new areas such as the information for the National Survey of High School Biology Teachers.

 

The information is definitely accessible to me as a reader because I can easily access it and I can quickly comprehend it. The information is detailed but it is very concise with clear, straight to the point facts. This information is pretty generalized because it doesn’t lead to many other sources but I like it because it does have only necessary information. This source is legitimate because it uses statistics from a research case study.

 

I would explain to someone that this information lets us see the statistics of teachers who teach evolution in high school biology courses.  It also provides us information on what some teachers say evolution applies to, such as on the molecular level, although it applies to all species. The main points that it provides me with include the percentage of teachers who teach creationism, creationism and evolution, evolution or nothing at all. What will help me best jog my memory about this source includes the statistics and what levels some teachers say evolution applies to.

Leave a comment