What Am I Passionate About?

 

When asked in class what I was passionate about, I wasn’t really sure what I was going to write about. I thought back through memories of my childhood and many ideas did come to mind. For instance, I thought about all of the activities I have participated in the past. Activities included sports such as volleyball, swimming and dancing. Then I thought about things I do that I enjoy…such as reading, playing the piano, listening to music and reading. All of these things to me I definitely and could easily write about but they seemed so boring, and frankly, I wasn’t entirely sure how to incorporate a visual aid with these ideas. Then, towards the end of class, something came to mind. I recently (and by recently, I mean this summer) got into hula hooping. The moment I thought of this, I realized that this would be the perfect topic to write about.

I actually couldn’t hula hoop at all until this past July. Growing up, we used to have hula hoops at the playground and in physical education classes and I never could do it! (Although I was very jealous of those who could…especially the boys!) I would always try and just keep failing and eventually get too frustrated to continue.

However, this past summer I attended a lot of music festivals and noticed this trend of hooping. The things people could do with a hoop amazed me! I knew right then and there I wanted to learn. So this summer, my sister and I hosted a bachorlette party at my family’s campsite in West Virginia. One of the bridesmaids that came was really into hooping. The way she just moved with the hoop up and down her body and over her shoulders and arms and neck made it seem so easy and fun. Right then and there, I knew it; I was hooked!

All in all, I’m really looking forward to this assignment. I feel that I can bring something new and refreshing to this assignment and I’m really looking forward to sharing my passion with the rest of my classmates.

Leave a comment