How Helpful Were Your Peers’ Comments To Help You Improve Your Writing? What Was Your Most Frequent Comment/Error/Recommendation?

Honestly, this time around, the peer reviews were not very helpful. I mean, I basically got the exact same comments from every single person. "Wow! What an interesting topic!" "I can't wait to see what you come up with! This is soooo interesting!" I mean, I guess I really should have for foreseen this. I probably have the weirdest topic out of the entire class. Who really in their right mind would pick something as weird as hula hooping? I just wanted to do something that wasn't as cliche. This was my thought process: I went through everything that I enjoyed for fun - volleyball, music, reading...I didn't want to do volleyball because everyone does a sport. I didn't want to do music because I didn't know how to be specific with such a broad topic and also, I'm sure other people thought of that. And with reading...I mean, how do you write a paper on reading books?! I just wanted to think of something that I enjoyed doing that would be new and interesting to the class since we had to present them. Then, halfway through the class, hula hooping just popped right in my mind! It was like a light bulb went on in my head. It had everything on my checklist. Original? Check! Fun? Check! Unique/Different? Check! Something I Enjoy? Check! And thus, my topic was born.

However, there were two helpful comments. The first said, “This is so interesting! I’m excited to see the history of hula hooping and how it got started!” I too was excited to see the history of hula hooping. So this comment made me start researching more and I was very excited to see what I discovered! This lead me to how Native Americans used hoops, and like I said in one of my earlier blog posts, I definitely find the Native American culture interesting. So thank you to whomever wrote that comment!

The second comment was much more entertaining. It said, “Just so you know I won a hula hooping contest before!” Well…to whomever said that comment, I would like you to know: At the final, let’s have a hula hooping contest! And the true hoop god or goddess will shine through…lol.

Leave a comment